Grave Derailment

After the train derailed, we found ourselves stuck in a cave. The train lay beside us in ruins and we were the sole survivors. There was a growl; a small, throaty exhale from deeper within the cave. I took out the book and flicked through the pages.

“This is it! This is the cave our family said we would explore one day!” I exclaimed.

“Is it? But where are the diamonds?” Duncan replied as he clicked the button on his torch.

“We’ll have to find out.”

We agreed to split up. I turned on my torch and started down a tunnel in the cave as my brother set down another. After a while, I rounded a corner to find a cluster of diamond. As I looked around, I realised that the only way out was to go back to where I started. Duncan said. He’d shout as loud as he could if he found a diamond, but the only thing I heard was a rumbling growl, now closer to me than before. Was this really the only one?, I thought, upset.

I yelled out. No response. Just something dragging on the floor. It stopped. The breathing was close to me now. I turned around and saw it. A purple monster with jagged features, as if its skeleton wanted to break free of its flesh. Its orange eyeball gazed into my soul. It dropped my brother and started towards me. We both started sprinting away from this lumbering beast, only to soon realise we were lost. Just as it found us, we caught sight of the train and hence, our way out. The fresh air was like a blessing. We looked back and saw the monster stumble out into daylight. It hissed violently and we watched as its purple skin transformed into a curdled black and it sank below the knee-high grass. The police and ambulance came quickly and we never spoke of it again.

Antonio

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment