Joe

I started to run. The wind, holding me back as I sprint past the gloomy lamp post. I hear doors slam and see lights flicker on and off in the shadowy, sombre street. The dominant, scary silence of inactivity is daunting, as I dash over the dark, solemn, regretful road. The once wonderful (but now terrible) trees howl back at me as I pant, louder than ever before.

My legs should ache and the adrenaline of the moment is the only thing keeping me going. To leave my hideous life behind, I don’t even know where to run. Far away! 

This entry was posted in 100 WC Week 19. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Joe

  1. Miss Graham says:

    Lovely use of a range of sentence lengths to control the tension in this piece of work Joe. Well done. I thought your choice of words was superb, daunting, and the sombre street and regretful road. It makes me wonder what you were running from and whether you would then use time slip in the full story to tell the reader about that past … I want to read more!

  2. Mrs. Richters(Team 100WC) says:

    Joe, thanks for your excellent response to the 100 Word Challenge photo prompt. Your word choices added so much to the story. A sombre street and regretful road, plus the dominant, scary silence of inactivity is daunting are examples of wonderful details to the suspense you were building. I had never thought about the silence of inactivity but that is so true. I want to know more about the hideous life you are fleeing and where you will find happiness. I could feel the adrenaline you needed to keep running. Great job!

  3. Tina Schmidt says:

    Dear Joe,
    Thanks for taking part in this week’s 100 Word Challenge. You’ve written an excellent descriptive piece to go along with the picture prompt. My favorite line is the one where the doors slam and the street lights flick on and off in the shadowy, sombre street. Perfect set up for a scary story. I wish there was more so I’d know what kind of hideous life you were running from! Keep up the great work!.
    Mrs. Schmidt (Team 100 WC)
    Grade 3 Teacher
    Pennsylvania, USA

Leave a comment